Sophie Breton | Principal Dancer and Assistant to the Choreographer

After several years of competitive gymnastics, Sophie Breton discovered dance at Regina Assumpta College. She will then follow her training at LADMMI.

Upon graduation in 2008, she worked with Alan Lake for his piece Chaudières, déplacements et paysages. She then collaborated with Frédéric Marier, Thierry Huard and Sasha Kleinplatz, and with Ginelle Chagnon in the staging of excerpts from the work of Jean-Pierre Perreault. She was a member of the O Vertigo company for three years.

Today, Sophie works with Jacques-Poulain Denis, Virginie Brunelle (Complexe des genres, À la douleur que j’ai) and Isabelle Van Grimde (Les gestes, The Body in Question(s), Corps Secret / Corps Public, Symphonie 5.1 and Eve 2050).

 

Marie-Hélène Boudrias | Neuroscientist

Marie-Hélène Boudrias (Ph.D.) is an Associate Professor at the School of Physical and Occupational Therapy of McGill University. Her research is oriented towards a better understanding of therapeutic interventions used in rehabilitation, including cortical stimulation, exercise or music, in order to promote brain neuroplasticity and maximize the maintenance/restoration of motor functions. To do so, she uses magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), magnetoencephalography (MEG) and electroencephalography (EEG) techniques, among others. Using these tools, she proposes a multimodal approach as well as the use of advanced signal processing techniques, such as artificial intelligence (AI), to quantify the reorganization of brain networks and evaluate their role in motor performance, with a particular focus on the motor network. Ultimately, his research aims to develop individualized treatments based on neuroimaging data and to select subpopulations more likely to benefit from a particular intervention in order to reduce the impact of aging, stroke or COVID19 on motor functions.

 

Isabelle Choinière | Digital Artist

Isabelle Choinière explores, from the perspective of the sensate and somatic body, the physical and psychic limits of the body in relation to digital media, highlighting the ways in which new technologies affect this body in a state of constant evolution and reveal the contemporary status of the body in the technological context. Her work on the relationship of mediation and the performative body questions the conventions – and connections – of corporeality, corporeality, embodiment, cognition, and perception of spectators and performers. Her work incorporates reflections on ontology, the ontogenetic potential of the body, time and space, from which emerges an expanded and novel conception of the body.

According to Andrea Davidson, theorist and former professor of Dance and New Media at the University of Chichester (UK), she is one of the few choreographers who has integrated technology into her practice from the beginning. Transdisciplinary artist, she is an international specialist in research-creation and new hybrid contemporary scenes integrating technology. In addition to her performative works, her creativity is also expressed through her research projects, both practical and theoretical, as well as integrative teaching.

 

Raphaël Cuir | Art Historian

Raphael Cuir has been Director of the École Supérieure d’Art et de Design de Reims since January 2018 and is currently President of the network of Écoles Supérieures d’Art et de Design du Grand Est (France). From 2015 to 2017 he was project manager at ENSAD Paris for the Nespresso Eco-design Chair and the Bettencourt Schuller Innovation and Know-How Foundation Chair. He was also scientific project manager for the Chair of Research in Creation and Creativity (Paris Chamber of Commerce and Industry, Cité du Design of Saint-Etienne, Royal Academy of Fine Arts of Brussels) from 2008 to 2010.

From 2012 to 2018 he was President of AICA France (International Association of Art Critics). Art critic and historian, PhD from the Ecole des Hautes Etudes en Sciences Sociales, he is specialized in the representation of the body and particularly in the relationship between art, science and anatomy. He is the author of Anatomiquement vôtre, art contemporain et connaissance de soi (Scala, 2018) and Renaissance de l’Anatomie (Hermann, 2016). He has also contributed to numerous collective works and edited several publications including the collection of answers to the question “Why is there art rather than nothing?” (Archibooks, 2014, 2009) and Art Performance: vie de l’archive et actualité (Les Presses du réel, 2013). In 2005-2006 he was awarded a fellowship in residence at the Getty Research Institute in Los Angeles where he taught at Otis College of Art and Design. He is a regular contributor to the journal Art Press for which he coordinated a special issue on the Cyborg in 2012.

In 1999 he created the first television channel dedicated to art history on the Internet “Mémoires Actives“.

 

Thom Gossage | Composer

Composer, drummer and percussionist, Thom Gossage leads the group Other Voices, which he founded in 2000 and with which he has already produced five albums. Simultaneously, his multiple collaborations with renowned musicians and his activities in the field of contemporary dance testify to his desire to always push the limits of his artistic practice.

An early collaborator of Van Grimde Corps Secrets, he has participated in most of the company’s creations as a composer/musical director, performer or artistic advisor. After his collaborations in Secrets vestiges, Par la peau du cœur, Au sommet de tes côtes, À l’échelle humaine and Pour quatre corps et mille parts inséparables, he decided to go for open works in Les chemins de traverse I-V, Vortex I-III, Perspectives Montréal and Bodies to Bodies – Les chemins de traverse Metz I-III. He also designed the sound architecture of the physical and virtual works The Body in Question(s) and The Body in Question(s)2, and continued the adventure with Symphonie 5.1 and Eve 2050.

Thom Gossage is also involved in creative music projects with Rainer Wiens (Mella Mella), Chaosmos (Phillipe Lauzier), Steve Raegele (Last Century), The Frank Lozano Quartet, Miles Perkin with Benoit Delbecq and Tom Arthurs, and has participated in numerous improvisations with professionals such as Drew Gress, François Houle, Dave Binney, Kurt Rosenwinkle, Ben Monder, Wolter Weirbos, Steve Swell and Christine Jensen.

 

Brad Necyk | Media Artist

Brad Necyk is a visual artist and writer on Vancouver Island, Canada whose practice focuses on mental illness, empathy, consciousness, and flourishing. He recently completed a research-creation Ph.D. in Psychiatry at the University of Alberta and his doctoral research was awarded the Governor General’s Gold Medal.

Currently, he is a Research Associate in Film & Digital Media at the University of California Santa Cruz and a Postdoctoral Fellow at York University with VISTA (Vision: Science to Applications) and Cinema & Media Arts, creating films on organ transplantation and medical assistance in dying.

His artistic work engages with 3D-scanning and -rendering, experimental film, video installation, and music and dance collaborations.

 

Marilène Oliver | Sculptor and Media Artist

Marilène Oliver is an Assistant Professor of Printmaking and Media Art at the University of Alberta in Edmonton. Her work is at the crossroads of new digital technologies, traditional print, and sculpture. It focuses on producing objects that bridge the virtual and the real worlds. She uses medical scanning technologies such as MRI, CT, and PET in works that allow us to materially contemplate our digitized selves. Her current focus is on creating virtual reality artworks that make visible and manipulable our many bodies of data.

She has exhibited internationally, at the Royal Academy in the UK, the MassMoCA in the US, and the Copernicus Museum in Poland. Her work is also held in a number of private and public collections around the world. She is the host of LASERAlberta, a series of Arts-Science public talks affiliated with Leonardo ISAST and currently leads the research projects Know Thyself as a Virtual Reality and Dyscorpia: Future Intersections of the Body and Technology.

 

 

Cristian Berco | Historian specialized in the body

Marie Brassard | Actress, author and director

Tim Brady | Composer and musician

Sean Caulfield | Engraver artist

Isabelle Choinière | Digital artist

Raphael Cuir | Art historian

DAVAI | Content creator and production company

Jérôme Delapierre | Virtual and interactive designer

ELTORO STUDIO | Video creator and production house

Roland Huesca | Danse researcher

Anick La Bissonnière | Architect-scenographer

Joanne Lalonde | Media arts historian

François Joseph Lapointe | Biologist and bioartist

Isabelle Lemelin | Anthropologist

Jacques Mateu | Plastic surgeon

Nadia Myre | Visual and media artist

Monique Régimbald-Zeiber | Visual artist

Hela Zahar | Researcher in digital cultures

Sophie Breton | Interprète principale et assistante de la chorégraphe

Après plusieurs années à pratiquer la gymnastique de compétition, Sophie Breton découvre la danse au collège Regina Assumpta. Elle suivra ensuite sa formation à LADMMI.

Dès sa graduation en 2008, elle travaille auprès d’Alan Lake pour sa pièce Chaudières, déplacements et paysages. Elle collabore ensuite aux projets de Frédéric Marier, Thierry Huard et Sasha Kleinplatz, et à la mise en scène d’extraits tirés de l’œuvre de Jean-Pierre Perreault aux côtés de Ginelle Chagnon. Elle est des interprètes de la compagnie O Vertigo pour une période de trois ans.

Aujourd’hui, Sophie travaille aux côtés de Jacques-Poulain Denis, Virginie Brunelle (Complexe des genres, À la douleur que j’ai) et d’Isabelle Van Grimde (Les gestes, Le corps en question(s), Corps Secret / Corps Public, Symphonie 5.1 et Eve 2050).

 

Marie-Hélène Boudrias | Neuroscientifique

Marie-Hélène Boudrias (Pht, Ph.D.) est Professeure agrégée à l’École de physiothérapie et d’ergothérapie de l’Université McGill. Ses recherches sont orientées vers une meilleure compréhension des interventions thérapeutiques utilisées en réadaptation incluant la stimulation corticale, l’exercice ou la musique afin de promouvoir la neuroplasticité du cerveau et de maximiser le maintien/regain des fonctions motrices. Pour se faire, elle utilise entre autres des techniques d’imagerie par résonance magnétique (IRM), de magnétoencéphalographie (MEG) et d’électroencéphalographie (EEG). À l’aide de ces outils, elle propose une approche multimodale ainsi que l’utilisation de techniques avancées de traitement du signal, telle l’intelligence artificielle (AI), afin de quantifier la réorganisation des réseaux du cerveau et d’évaluer leur rôle dans les performances motrices, en mettant un accent particulier sur le réseau moteur. Ultimement, ses recherches visent à développer des traitements individualisés basés sur des données de neuroimagerie et à sélectionner les sous-populations plus aptes à bénéficier d’une intervention particulière afin de diminuer les impacts du vieillissement, d’un AVC ou de la COVID19 sur les fonctions motrices.

 

Isabelle Choinière | Artiste numérique

Isabelle Choinière explore, du point de vue du corps sensoriel et somatique, les limites physiques et psychiques du corps en relation avec les médias numériques, en soulignant les façons dont les nouvelles technologies affectent ce corps en mutation et révèlent le nouveau statut contemporain du corps dans le contexte technologique. Son travail sur la relation de la médiation et du corps performatif remet en question les conventions – et les liens – de la corporalité, de la corporéité, de l’embodiment, de la cognition et de la perception des spectateurs et des interprètes. Son travail intègre une réflexion sur l’ontologie et l’ontogenèse, le temps et l’espace d’où émerge une conception élargie et inédite du corps.

Selon Andrea Davidson, théoricienne et ex-professeure de Dance and New Media à l’Université de Chichester (RU), elle est une des seules chorégraphes qui a intégrée, dès le début de sa pratique, la technologie au centre de sa démarche. Artiste transdisciplinaire, elle est une spécialiste internationale de la recherche-création et des nouvelles scènes contemporaines hybrides intégrant la technologie. Outre ses œuvres performatives, sa créativité s’exprime également par ses projets de recherche, tant pratique que théorique que d’enseignement intégratif.

 

Raphaël Cuir | Historien de l’art

Raphael Cuir est directeur de l’École Supérieure d’Art et de Design de Reims depuis janvier 2018 et actuellement Président du réseau des Écoles Supérieures d’Art et de Design du Grand Est (France). De 2015 à 2017 il a été chef de projet à l’ENSAD Paris pour la Chaire d’éco-conception Nespresso et la chaire de la fondation Bettencourt Schuller Innovation et Savoir-faire. Il a également été chef de projet scientifique de la Chaire de recherche en Création et Créativité (Chambre de Commerce et d’Industrie de Paris, Cité du Design de Saint-Etienne, Académie Royale des Beaux-Arts de Bruxelles) de 2008 à 2010.

De 2012 à 2018 il a été Président de l’AICA France (Association Internationale des Critiques d’art). Critique et historien d’art, docteur de l’Ecole des Hautes Etudes en Sciences Sociales, Il est notamment spécialiste de la représentation du corps et particulièrement des relations entre art, science et anatomie. Il est l’auteur de Anatomiquement vôtre, art contemporain et connaissance de soi (Scala, 2018) et Renaissance de l’Anatomie (Hermann, 2016). Il a également contribué à de nombreux ouvrages collectifs et dirigé plusieurs publications dont le recueil de réponses à la question «Pourquoi y a-t-il de l’art plutôt que rien ?» (Archibooks, 2014, 2009) et Art Performance : vie de l’archive et actualité (Les Presses du réel, 2013). En 2005-2006 il a bénéficié d’une bourse de recherche en résidence au Getty Research Institute à Los Angeles où il a enseigné à Otis College of Art and Design. Il collabore régulièrement à la revue Art Press pour laquelle il a coordonné un numéro spécial sur le Cyborg en 2012.

En 1999 il a créé la première chaîne de télévision dédiée à l’histoire de l’art sur Internet « Mémoires Actives ».

 

Thom Gossage | Compositeur

Compositeur, batteur et percussionniste sollicité pour de nombreux enregistrements, Thom Gossage dirige le groupe Other Voices qu’il a fondé en 2000 et avec lequel il a déjà produit cinq albums. Parallèlement, ses multiples collaborations avec des musiciens de renom et ses activités dans le milieu de la danse contemporaine témoignent de sa volonté de toujours repousser les limites de sa pratique artistique.

Complice de la toute première heure de Van Grimde Corps Secrets, il a participé à la plupart des créations de la compagnie à titre de compositeur/directeur musical, interprète ou conseiller artistique. Après ses collaborations à Secrets vestiges, Par la peau du cœur, Au sommet de tes côtes, À l’échelle humaine et Pour quatre corps et mille parts inséparables, il a joué le jeu de l’œuvre ouverte dans Les chemins de traverse I-V, Vortex I-III, Perspectives Montréal et Bodies to Bodies – Les chemins de traverse Metz I-III. Il a aussi conçu l’architecture sonore des œuvres physiques et web Le corps en question(s) et Le corps en question(s)2, et poursuivi l’aventure avec Symphonie 5.1 et Eve 2050.

Thom Gossage est par ailleurs impliqué dans des projets de créations musicales avec Rainer Wiens (Mella Mella), Chaosmos (Phillipe Lauzier), Steve Raegele (Last Century), The Frank Lozano Quartet, Miles Perkin avec Benoit Delbecq et Tom Arthurs. Il a participé à de nombreuses improvisations avec des professionnels tels que Drew Gress, François Houle, Dave Binney, Kurt Rosenwinkle, Ben Monder, Wolter Weirbos, Steve Swell et Christine Jensen.

 

Brad Necyk | Artiste médiatique

Brad Necyk est un artiste visuel et un auteur de l’île de Vancouver, dont la pratique est axée sur la maladie mentale, l’empathie, la conscience et l’épanouissement. Il a récemment terminé un doctorat de recherche-création en psychiatrie à l’Université de l’Alberta et sa recherche doctorale a reçu la médaille d’or du Gouverneur général.

Actuellement, il est associé de recherche en cinéma et médias numériques à l’université de Californie Santa Cruz et boursier postdoctoral à l’université York avec VISTA (Vision : Science to Applications) et Cinema & Media Arts, créant des films sur la transplantation d’organes et l’aide médicale à mourir.

Son travail artistique fait appel à la numérisation et au rendu 3D, au film expérimental, à l’installation vidéo et à des collaborations en matière de musique et de danse.

 

Marilène Oliver | Sculpteur et artiste médiatique

Marilène Oliver est professeure adjointe en gravure et en arts médiatiques à l’Université de l’Alberta à Edmonton. Son travail se situe au carrefour des nouvelles technologies numériques, de l’impression traditionnelle et de la sculpture. Elle se concentre sur la production d’objets qui font le pont entre le monde virtuel et le monde réel. Elle utilise des technologies de balayage médical telles que l’IRM, le CT et le PET dans des œuvres qui nous permettent de contempler matériellement notre moi numérisé. Elle se concentre actuellement sur la création d’œuvres d’art en réalité virtuelle qui rendent visibles et manipulables nos nombreux corpus de données.

Elle a exposé à l’échelle internationale, notamment à la Royal Academy au Royaume-Uni, au MassMoCA aux États-Unis et au musée Copernic en Pologne. Ses œuvres font également partie d’un certain nombre de collections privées et publiques dans le monde entier. Elle est l’hôte de LASERAlberta, une série de conférences publiques Arts-Science affiliées à Leonardo ISAST et dirige actuellement les projets de recherche Know Thyself as a Virtual Reality et Dyscorpia : Future Intersections of the Body and Technology.

 

Cristian Berco | Historien Spécialiste du corps

Tim Brady | Compositeur et interprète

Marie Brassard | Actrice, auteure et metteur en scène

Sean Caulfield | Artiste graveur

DAVAI | Agence de production et création de contenu

Jérôme Delapierre | Designer virtuel et interactif

ELTORO STUDIO | Création et production de contenu vidéo

Roland Huesca | Chercheur en danse

Anick La Bissonnière | Architecte-scénographe

Joanne Lalonde | Historienne des arts médiatiques

François Joseph Lapointe | Biologiste et bioartiste

Isabelle Lemelin | Anthropologue

Jacques Mateu | Chirurgien plasticien

Nadia Myre | Artiste visuel et médiatique

Monique Régimbald-Zeiber | Artiste visuelle

Hela Zahar | Chercheure en cultures numériques