Interprètes | Performers : Marie Brassard, Sophie Breton, Marie-Ève Lafontaine, Robin Poitras, Georges-Nicolas Tremblay, Brian Webb.
Crédit vidéo | Video credit : Jérôme Delapierre

 

A cross between choreography, spatial and acoustic architecture, exhibition and interactive digital technology, Le corps en question(s)2/The Body in Question(s)2 explores the ways in which the massive social, cultural and technological changes in modern societies are affecting how we conceptualize and interpret the body.

Transforming the seven rooms of Enterprise Square Galleries in Edmonton, Isabelle Van Grimde has created an organic space that she invites us to inhabit rather than pass through. Within it, she sets up a dialogue between the living body and its genome, its digital conversion, its virtual image and oneiric dimension. She instils tension between the primitive body and the future body, pondering the status of the physical body in an increasingly virtual world, and the impact of computers on our mental and physical processes. This questioning becomes all the more poignant, since a digital platform allows visitors to get a live, behind-the-scenes view of the creation and to make a web recreation of the very work that surrounds them. From one room to the next, visitors discover works by nine visual and media artists, essays by two scientists, and the subtle movements of six dancers aged 23 to 60. Video installations relay their performances in the rooms they no longer occupy, maintaining a constant choreographic presence in the exhibition.

Defying the notions of space and time, this intriguing work uses the viewer’s body to reinvent itself. An intimate experience whose duration and nature is determined by each visitor. Intelligent, sensitive, monumental.

Photos : Jérôme Delapierre
Commissaire, directrice artistique et chorégraphe | Curator, Artistic Director and Choreographer Isabelle Van Grimde
Architecture de l’espace | Space Design Éric O. Lacroix
Interprètes | Performers
Marie Brassard, Sophie Breton, Marie-Ève Lafontaine, Robin Poitras, Georges-Nicolas Tremblay, Brian Webb
Artistes visuels | Visual Artists Derek Besant, Brennan/Caulfied/Mills, Kate Craig, Foumalade, Anick La Bissonnière, Éric O. Lacroix, Nadia Myre, Marilène Olivier, Monique Régimbald-Zeiber

Edmonton Examiner (June 17, 2015)

Dinner TV (Edmonton – Alberta)

Press review_ceq2-edmonton

+ Press release

Performers : Marie Brassard, Sophie Breton, Marie-Ève Lafontaine, Robin Poitras, Georges-Nicolas Tremblay, Brian Webb.
Video : Jérôme Delapierre

 

Métissant exposition, création chorégraphique, architectures spatiale et sonore, et plateforme numérique interactive, Le corps en question(s)2/The Body in Question(s)questionne la façon dont les profondes mutations sociales, culturelles et technologiques des sociétés modernes affectent notre façon de conceptualiser le corps et de le lire.

Transformant sept salles des Enterprise Square Galleries d’Edmonton jusqu’à en percer certains murs, Isabelle Van Grimde créé un espace organique qu’elle nous invite à habiter plutôt qu’à traverser. Elle y place le corps vivant en dialogue avec son génome, sa transposition numérique, son image virtuelle et sa dimension onirique. Elle y met en tension corps primitif et corps du futur, interrogeant la place réservée au corps physique dans un monde de plus en plus virtuel et l’impact des ordinateurs sur nos processus mentaux et physiques. Et le questionnement est d’autant plus troublant qu’une plateforme numérique permet au spectateur de découvrir en direct les coulisses de la création et de recréer sur internet l’œuvre-même qui l’entoure. D’une pièce à l’autre, on découvre les créations de neuf artistes visuels et médiatiques, les essais de plusieurs scientifiques et les mouvements subtils de sept danseurs âgés de 23 à 60 ans. Des installations vidéo relayent leurs performances dans les salles où ils ne sont pas et maintiennent à toute heure une présence chorégraphique dans l’exposition.

Une œuvre intrigante qui défie les notions d’espace et de temps et qui englobe le corps du spectateur pour se réinventer en partie grâce à lui. Une expérience intime dont chacun choisit la durée et la teneur. Intelligent, sensible, monumental.

 

Photos : Jérôme Delapierre
Commissaire, directrice artistique et chorégraphe | Curator, Artistic Director and Choreographer Isabelle Van Grimde
Architecture de l’espace | Space Design Éric O. Lacroix
Interprètes | Performers
Marie Brassard, Sophie Breton, Marie-Ève Lafontaine, Robin Poitras, Georges-Nicolas Tremblay, Brian Webb
Artistes visuels | Visual Artists Derek Besant, Brennan/Caulfied/Mills, Kate Craig, Foumalade, Anick La Bissonnière, Éric O. Lacroix, Nadia Myre, Marilène Olivier, Monique Régimbald-Zeiber

Dossier de presse

Edmonton Examiner (17 juin 2015)

Dinner TV (Edmonton – Alberta)

revue-de-presse