New technologies > Symphonie 5.1 > About

Photo : J. Delapierre / Interprètes / Performers : G-N Tremblay, M-È Lafontaine, M.Robitaille, S.Maurice

Symphonie 5.1

In an era of increasing virtualization, Isabelle Van Grimde immerses her dancers into an interactive visual environment orchestrated by live music. Here the choreographer ex- plores questions of identity fluctuation, perceptions and the future body. A thousand and one stories overlap, forming the framework of a dreamlike and eerily poetic work.

Two young dancers from the École supérieure de ballet du Québec

For this production, Isabelle Van Grimde invited two young dancers, students from the École supérieure de ballet du Québec: Samaël Maurice (aged 12) and Maya Robitaille (aged 14). Their presence reveals other aspects of the choreographer’s gestural language, provides another perspective on the dancing body, and other identification possibilities for the audience.

An atmospheric and enveloping sound environment

Composing a symphonic work in a choreographic context was the challenge facing Tim Brady and Thom Gossage in creating the musical environment for Symphonie 5.1. The result is a composition for guitar and percussion, an open work with structured improvisation.

An immersive and interactive visual environment

Generated primarily in real time, the dreamlike landscapes by artist Jérôme Delapierre capture the essence of the ever-increasing virtual world in which we live. Combining an infrared motion-capture system and a technology as unobtrusive as it is complex, the interactive design propels the choreographic language, while the visuals lend the dancers a second skin.


Artistic Team :

Artistic direction and choreography

Isabelle Van Grimde

Created with and performed by

Marie-Ève Lafontaine or Sophie Breton, Samaël Maurice, Maya Robitaille, Georges-Nicolas Tremblay

Live music composed and performed by

Tim Brady, Thom Gossage

Video, Interaction and Stage Design

Jérôme Delapierre

Choreographer’s assistants

Marie-Ève Lafontaine, Sophie Breton

Technical Director

Émilie Bérubé-Dionne

Sound Engineer

Bernard Grenon


Van Grimde Corps Secrets

In co-production with

Agora de la danse, Bradyworks, Brian Webb Dance Company, École supérieure de ballet du Québec.


For more information :

Press kit – Symphonie 5.1

Press release – Agora – Janvier 2016

Nouvelles technologies > Symphonie 5.1 > À propos

À l’ère d’une virtualisation croissante, Isabelle Van Grimde plonge ses danseurs dans un environnement visuel interactif orchestré par une partition musicale jouée en direct. La chorégraphe s’interroge ici sur les fluctuations identitaires, la perception du corps et sur son devenir. Ainsi, mille et une histoires se chevauchent, tissant la trame d’une oeuvre onirique d’une troublante poésie.

 

Photo : J. Delapierre / Interprètes / Performers : G-N Tremblay, M-È Lafontaine, M.Robitaille, S.Maurice

 

Chorégraphie Isabelle Van Grimde

Interprétation Sophie Breton ou Marie-Ève Lafontaine, Samaël Maurice, Maya Robitaille, Georges-Nicolas Tremblay

Compositeurs-interprètes Tim Brady, Thom Gossage

Design Visuel et d’interaction Jérôme Delapierre

Assistante de la chorégraphe Marie-Ève Lafontaine

Direction technique Émilie Bérubé-Dionne

Ingénieur Son Bernard Grenon

Production Van Grimde Corps Secrets

Coproduction Agora de la danse, Bradyworks, Brian Webb Dance Company, École supérieure de ballet du Québec.

 

Symphonie 5.1-15

 

Deux jeunes danseurs de l’École supérieure de ballet du Québec

Pour cette création, Isabelle Van Grimde a invité deux très jeunes interprètes, élèves de l’École supérieure de ballet du Québec : Samaël Maurice (12 ans) et Maya Robitaille (14 ans). Leur présence révèle d’autres qualités de sa gestuelle, offre une autre perspec-tive sur le corps dansant et ouvre au public d’autres possibilités d’identification.

 

Un environnement sonore atmosphérique et enveloppant

Composer une oeuvre symphonique dans un contexte chorégraphique était une des règles que s’étaient fixées Tim Brady et Thom Gossage pour l’environnement musical de Sympho-nie 5.1. En résulte une composition à quatre mains pour guitare et percussions livrée sur le mode de l’oeuvre ouverte et de l’improvisation structurée.

 

Un environnement visuel immersif et interactif

Générés pour la plupart en temps réel, les paysages oniriques créés par l’artiste Jérôme Delapierre matérialisent la trame du monde virtuel de plus en plus complexe dans lequel nous vivons. Combinant un système de capture de mouvement infrarouge et une tech-nologie aussi discrète que complexe, le design d’interaction exalte le langage chorégra-phique et l’élément visuel habille les danseurs d’une seconde peau.

 

Dossier de presse – Symphonie 5.1

Press kit – Symphonie 5.1

Communiqué de presse – Agora – janvier 2016

Press release – Agora – Janvier 2016